Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In


2018 Award Nominations are NOW OPEN!



CFHA recognizes the importance and significance of a mechanism and standardized, transparent process for organizational awards, issued at the annual conference. CFHA awards are intended to inspire and honor excellence in a variety of domains, recognize those within the organization whom demonstrate consistent and exceptionally high standards and achievements in improving collaborative care, to promote career advancement, engage membership, and to identify current and future leaders within the organization and field of collaborative care. Every award is intended to align with some element of the organization’s vision and mission.

CFHA will accept nominations for each award from April 1 to July 1 each year.  Below please find a brief description of each award, as well as a link to a full description of the nomination and selection process for each.  

We encourage our members to celebrate the contributions and achievements of their colleagues and friends.


Please consider nominating one of our many worthy candidates today for one of the following awards:


Don Bloch Award
(Click here for more information) 

This award has been the primary organizational award of significance since 2007, honoring one of the most influential and seminal founders of CFHA, Don Bloch, MD. The award recognizes an individual whose work and character exemplifies Don Bloch and thus advances the field of collaborative care in an epic manner, regardless of career stage. The awardee should exemplify the lauded and celebrated attributes of Don Bloch.



Family Oriented Care Award
(Click here for more information)  

This FHIG-sponsored award recognizes clinicians and researchers who incorporate the principles of family-oriented care into their day-to-day work with families managing their health (prevention and intervention).

These principles can include: 1) collaborating with patients, families, and healthcare providers in program development, implementation, and evaluation, as well as the delivery of care; 2) sharing information that promotes family-provider communication during and after care; 3) families are encouraged and supported to participate in care and decision-making, 4) care in the context of family and community where medical care and decision-making is respectful and considers the patient in the context of his/her family and community, and 5) respecting cultural diversity while caring for families.

This award recognizes an individual, team, university, department or clinic whose clinical work and/or program of research advances the field of family-oriented care in a seminal way and exemplifies at least two out of the five principles of family-oriented care described above, regardless of the nominee(s)’s stage of career.

Each year, one award will be presented at the CFHA conference. Note that we also reserve the right to not award it each year, if there are not any suitable nominees.



CFHA Founders' Early Career Professional Award
(Click here for more information) 

Over 20 years ago, 15 professionals from multiple disciplines gathered to discuss what healthcare delivery should look like for patients and families.  It is because of their pioneering spirits that we now benefit from an interdisciplinary, collaborative family healthcare model.  These 15 founders have been instrumental to the development and future of the field as demonstrated by their continuous support and mentorship of young collaborators.  In their honor, the annual CFHA Founders’ ECP Award serves as the highest recognition for an early career professional’s contributions to the field of integrated and collaborative care. The recipient, like CFHA’s founders, is someone who:

-Embraces the utilization of collaborative techniques and the biopsychosocial model in patient care – whether in a clinical, teaching, research or administrative role,

-Is thoughtful about the future of integrated models of care and establishing  sustainable models,

-Demonstrates strong collaboration as evidenced by professional interactions with  others across disciplines,

-Emphasizes family in his or her work,

-Fosters a sense of innovation as he or she strives to exemplify the goals of CFHA.



Outstanding Contributions to the PCBH Model Award
(Click here for more information) 

This award recognized individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health care through their commitment and use of the Primary Care Behavioral Health (PCBH) model. Nominees have demonstrated their service to the PCBH model through education; training; supervision or mentoring students and colleagues; association governance, serving on boards, or committees; scholarly efforts; teaching; practice or practice management; advocating for PCBH’s best interests with state and federal lawmakers; and promoting the value of {CBH in the public eye. Nominees may be involved in one service area, many of the areas, or all of the service areas noted above. Further, nominees should embody and demonstrate values commensurate with CFHA’s overall mission of promoting comprehensive and cost-effective models of healthcare to deliver integrated care.



Contact Us

P. O. Box 23980,
Rochester, New York
14692-3980 USA

What We Do

CFHA is a member-based, 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to making integrated behavioral and physical health the standard of care nationally. CFHA achieves this by organizing the integrated care community, providing expert technical assistance and producing educational content.